top of page

Update: Down But Not Out


Hello readers, it's been a little bit since I've posted anything and I feel like an explanation is in order. So, for anyone who followed this site's promotional Facebook Page and were surprised when things just kinda vanished, the simple explanation is that everything is just gone. Thanks to the US's wonderful copyright laws and Facebook's less-than-consistent enforcement of those laws, both the Facebook Page and my personal account were permanently banned because of the video clips I'd occasionally post to offer a taste of the shows I've been watching and share my initial thoughts on those that really caught my attention. In all fairness, though, I should have seen this coming months ago. After the first couple claims that resulted in the Page getting Zucked for a few days, I should have just taken the hint and gotten rid of all the videos I'd posts on the Page at that point since it was clear that there was little rhyme or reason behind Facebook's swift and brutal enforcement of the copyright law. As far as Facebook was concerned, it didn't matter if the clips were used for review purposes or even when they were posted. Whether it was days, weeks, or (in most cases) years after the videos were originally posted, Facebook made its corporate-favoring, zero-tolerance policy crystal clear. Regardless of whether or not I deserved the ban, though, the fact of the matter is that my primary means of reaching out to people and promoting my reviews is now gone and will never return--a fact that I honestly took pretty hard.

In the weeks since the Facebook Page's demise, I've been forced to consider how I wanted to handle things going forward and if I even wanted to bother keeping this site and years-long writing venture of mine alive. Truth be told, I've always had the niggling worry that I've been doing all this for nothing from the beginning. Being the generally insecure mess that I am, I've always simply assumed that no one reads my reviews and that the hits I've seen for the site have only ever been bots. This is, I'm well aware, not actually the case though. From the first, this site was made as a means for me to share my thoughts and feelings on recent anime with my friends I don't get to see or talk to that much these days. In the years since it's creation, though, I've gotten little bits of praise from said friends and even some reassurance that I am doing something worthwhile as they apparently felt the need to share my reviews and feelings with their other friends and fellow anime buffs. So, despite my poor self-esteem and terrible habit of looking for reasons to undermine my efforts, I still plan to keep this site alive and even bland to branch out a little more in the weeks and months to come. Right now, it's just a matter of waiting for my itch to get writing again to overrule the tsunami of self-doubt and depression that came in the wake of losing the Facebook Page so I don't risk pushing myself too hard and burning out altogether.

As I prep for my grand return to the world of review writing, though, I should say that I am currently looking for new methods to share and promote this site and maybe even expand on what I offer all of you going forward. At this moment, I'm currently toying with making a Twitter and Tumblr page to recreate what I had with the Facebook Page. If, however, you would like to suggest other platforms or can think of ways that I can better engage with you and others, I'm now in a better position than ever to act on those recommendations. After all, while I might use this site as a means to vent my thoughts on the things I enjoy, I'd much rather vent in a way that are more helpful and entertaining to you--my friends and readers.

Related Posts
bottom of page