top of page

Anime Review: JoJo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable


Common Name: Jojo's Bizarre Adventure: Diamond is Unbreakable

Alternative Names: JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken: Diamond wa Kudakenai, JoJo no Kimyou na Bouken Part 4: Diamond wa Kudakenai

Score: 9/10, 5/5

Length: 39 Episodes

Genre: Action, Adventure, Super powers, Supernatural, Comedy, Drama, Mystery

Summary: In the peaceful town of Morio (or Moriō-chō) Higashikata Jousuke lives a relatively easy life with his mother and grandfather. Lately there have been a lot of strange rumors circulating and even Jousuke's peaceful life has taken a strange turn. Out of thin air, a man named Kuujou Joutarou has appeared in his life, claiming to be the grandson of Jousuke's father and that he has a similar power to Jousuke's--the power to summon a Stand. Unlike Joutarou's Star Platinum which can stop time, Jousuke's Crazy Daimond has the ability to "heal" things. Now, it's up to Joutarou, Jousuke, and his new high school friends to figure out what's disrupting the peace in Morio.

Review: .......Seriously? If you haven't watched this show, get out of here and go watch it. Heck, go watch the rest of the series while you're at it. That's my review. Go home. Leave. This is a good show. There really isn't anything else to say.

Alright, with that out of the way, I guess I should explain my thoughts on the show to you weirdos who want to either want to validate your own opinions or argue with me about something that's purely subjective. Now, I'm sure most of you would love to disagree with me about my score. "Surely, this godsend of a show deserves far better than a 9. 9000/10 is what you meant to put, right?" I mean, that's what I assume that's what you're saying unless you're just frothing at the mouth in anger for my insolence.

Honestly, I do really like this show, but I didn't feel like it met the same the same standard as the previous Jojos. I mean, sure, the animation, music, and tone are pretty much always on point. There's nothing to complain about there. However, this show just felt off to me. There was something about the pacing that just didn't work for me. It had a weird balance of plot episodes and episodes that were little more than filler. Sure, I get that this was the author's attempt at making something akin to a murder mystery and there needed to moments to break up the plot's heavier moments, but it just kills the show's pace. Particularly toward the end the pacing fell apart. It felt very rushed since there was such a large amount of filler before it.

On top of this there are a few moments that are just plain annoying. To be specific, I'm referring to the moments where the show is constantly changing it's color palate, and I'm definitely not the only person who took issue with it. While I didn't mind it all that much during Part 3, I don't recall them doing it nearly as much as they did during Part 4. The art still looks great, but when it's changing on the regular, it becomes a detriment rather than something that builds on the show's natural hype.

Aside from that, I loved this show the same way I loved every other Jojo. It's dumb. It's action-packed. It's quirky and hilarious. At times, it's even heart breaking, but not the kind that'd reduce me to tears. As far as action shows go, nothing tops Jojo in my mind. However, some of the arcs are stronger than others; there's no helping that. So, when compared to the others, I don't think Part 4's nearly as good. I'm sure it's the incarnation of perfection for someone, but not for me. Differences in opinion aside, I'm waiting with bated breath for the announcement of Part 5's adaptation.

Related Posts
bottom of page