top of page

Anime Review: Yuri!! On Ice


Common Name: Yuri!! on ICE

Score: 8/10, 5/5

Length: 12 Episodes

Genre: Sports, Comedy, Romance

Summary: Ever since he was a child, Katsuki Yuri has idolized and worked to be like the renowned figure skater, Victor Nikiforov, to the point that he has succeeded at becoming a pro skater in his own right. After a crushing defeat on the world stage though, Yuri has lost the drive to get back up until Victor himself appears before him and promises to help him get the gold next time.

Review: Sooooooo, yeah...I have no idea why I like this show so much. On it's surface, Yuri!! on Ice is a show about gay figure skaters, so clearly I should have no interest in it, but here I am. Being who I am, I am fundamentally incapable of relating to the homosexual experience in any way, so I have right to claim that this show is in any way true to life. On top of that, I have never really cared about or expressed interest in figure skating outside of saying "that looks cool" whenever the Winter Olympics are going on. In spite of these things though, Yuri!! on Ice is a show that was capable of drawing me in and engaging me on an artistic level while simultaneously teaching me about both of these subjects. So, yeah, I'm going to try and sum up what's good about this show and why I like it in spite of what I lack. This is going to go really well.

I suppose what really drew me into the show is that fact that, at it's core, Yuri!! on Ice is a story that has been told a million times over and is relatable to pretty much everyone. Katsuki Yuri, the underdog hero of the show, starts off the show in personal turmoil since he just made an utter fool of himself on the world show. As the show goes on, he gets back up and then, through hard work and a whole lot of help from his friends, he proves that he has what it takes to become one of next greats of the figure skating world. Here's the thing though, and the show openly admits this, Yuri ALWAYS had that potential.

He just needed to get over his insecurity and find a hot guy to inspire him.

That might sound like a joke, but it's true. He did, afterall, start the show already good enough to be on the world stage. All he needed was some time to grow out of his insecurities and find a source of inspiration that the would couldn't deny, and what better inspiration is there than the person who made him fall in love with ice skating to begin with.

From that platform the rest of the show launches off, because of course getting a living and still performing legend for a coach comes with a cost. Now Yuri has to fill the gap Victor left in the skating world, convince himself, his rival (who shares Yuri's personal and professional interests, and shares his name, but is Russian like Victor), and the world that Victor isn't just goofing off; oh, and also deal with the fact that he has more than a little a crush on Victor.

To he fair, who wouldn't when you have THIS in you face all day.

Unlike other animes though, I appreciate how believable the characters are. They don't fall into the usual tropes we're used to. Yuri isn't some hero of destiny who went from nothing to an unstoppable force of good. Victor isn't an infallible mentor figure who can do no wrong. The Russian Yuri, who I've been ignoring for the most part even though the show is just as much his story as it is the Japanese Yuri's, isn't just a hurtle for our protagonist to overcome. Instead, we are given a beautifully animated and executed tale of growth for both of the Yuris and Victor as well.

Kinda speaks for itself, doesn't it?

Now, for me at least, this kind of relationship feels a lot more believable and compelling then the usual homosexual romance in anime--which typically amounts to a stoic sex god having his way a whiny, emotionally-unstable child. Because of it's beautiful art, inspiring messages, and the maturity with which it handles it's subject matter, I have a lot of love and respect for Yuri!! on Ice. It wasn't my favorite show of the season, but was a strong contender even though I couldn't relate to it on a personal level. That fact alone should speak volumes.

Related Posts
bottom of page